Seedlings

Seedknitting is not something I've spend much time doing before. I don't think it's much fun, either knitting nor looking at.

BUT, I know you felt a but coming, when the big dollop of wool had started to get to comfortable in the yarnbasket I knew I had do to something about it. And why not knit a set consisting of matching headband and scarf. AND, why not use the seedknitting technique!?

Said and done! The headband was knitted on needles 6 (eu size) and the scarf on needles 12. The lady in the store recommended needles 20, but that would have given a very scanty scarf and I wouldn't have liked that.

Anyhow - I casted on 10 stiches for the headband, seedknitted until it was large enough to go around my head. Then I did the finishing by binding off the stiches on my needle together with the knitted stiches at the beginning of the headband. That way I made the bindoff and the stiching together in on.

With the scarf I did the same, but I casted on 15 stiches and knitting until the yarn was used. Then I did the same bindoff as for the headband. In total I used 2 skeins, a total of 300 grams. If you knit a pair with scarf and headband/berret/woole hat - always knit the headpiece first - then you don't have to think about how much yarn you have to save while knitting the scarf.



I think the seedknitting really gives this scarf and headband that little extra. I think the seads are almost like small emeralds and safires!


Thanks again to Eddy for taking the pictures!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Retrobohem

Vår franska bulldog är det bästa vi har! Som vårt lilla barn, mysig och sällskaplig. Här i Norge stickar alla som galningar, även de i vår ålder :)

2011-11-19 @ 19:17:08
URL: http://retrobohem.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0